CS Time/TNA Documents

username password

Auto Update

    Table of contents
    1. 1. How it works
    2. 2. Install Methods
        1. 2.1.1. Manual Intalling
        2. 2.1.2. Downgrading
        3. 2.1.3. Scheduling

     

    CS Time now boast a feature whereby the application will automatically update to the latest install. This feature namely “Auto updates” is vital for the stability of CS Time and should not be bypassed or disabled in any way. 

     

    CONTENT

     

    How it works

    There are now 2 installs (for each flavour of CS Time). For TPS, there is CSTimeTpsInstall.exe (which is the install that you will need to run the first time you install the software on a server or client), and CSTimeTpsUpdateInstall.exe. The CSTimeTpsUpdateInstall.exe is used when an existing installation of CS Time is already operational and one needs to update it to a later release. Under normal circumstances the update is done automatically through th CS Time server.

    When a PC is installed with CS Time for the first time (even if there is a pre-existing version on the machine or CS Time is installed on another machine) then CSTimeTpsInstall.exe must be used in order to configure the system correctly. This "Main / Full / Admin" install (CSTimeTpsInstall.exe) configures signitures, access rights & firewall settings on he designated PC. Never use the CSTimeTpsUpdateInstall.exe for a new install. On te reverse side never use the CSTimeTpsInstall.exe to upgrade an existing installation.

    The server module (or unified module as the case may be) is responsible to run the auto update feature. With it being closed no auto updates can be performed. This however is not done through any of the processors but rather in the background (off the main server thread – non-optional).

     

    Auto_Update-1.png

    Install Methods

    Manual Intalling

    You must first exit all applications, and in a multi-install scenario (i.e. where CS Time is installed on multiple PCs), run the install at the server PC first (it will delete the xml version file in the updates folder). Then run the server module.

    If you have the xml file containing the install version in the same folder as the install when you run the install, the install file itself together with the xml file (containing the version) will be copied to the datapath\updates folder, and the other PCs will automatically update themselves from there. If you do not have the xml version file, then you will need to manually update the client PCs. The manual install will wait until all CS Time applications are closed before allowing the install to continue.

    Downgrading

    Follow the steps for the “Manual install”. When you run the server for the first time, a warning will be displayed that the version is going backwards, and you can ignore the warning and proceed. The other workstations will downgrade themselves without any ado thereafter.

    You can use one of the install files in the datapath\updates\backup folder (labeled cstime???install?.exe). If there is a matching xml file (of the same number) then both the install and the xml will be copied to the datapath\updates folder (to the correct name – i.e. cstimetpsinstall.exe and cstimetpsversion.xml) for use by the other PCs.

    Scheduling

    Within the Configuration module, under Bells & Whistles it is possible to schedule the preferred times CS Time should download and install the new update. It is advised not to schedule the updates during working hours, where the users / operator have to access the software.

     

     

    Auto_Update-2.png

     

    Permalink:  http://tinyurl.com/po2we8j

    Page last modified 11:20, 20 Jun 2014 by duaine CS Time/TNA Documents > FAQ > Auto Update

    Comments0

    You must login to post a comment.
    Attach file

    Files2

    Powered by MindTouch Core